This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology   Tags: social_science, subject_guide  

Guide to recommended databases to search for scholarly articles, books, recommended websites, and information on citation format. Look for more information soon, including specific class guides.
Last Updated: May 19, 2014 URL: http://laverne.v1.libguides.com/anthro Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • SAGE Knowledge
    Search a collection of SAGE reference books by keyword, title, or browse through the indexes. Covering: sociology, law, education, healthcare, counseling and more.
  • Oxford Reference
    Over 170 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, and statistical directories.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    An online collection of dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, etc.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past; traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year and an Internet directory with links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Not Finding What You Want?

Are you having trouble finding what you want?  Whether it is not being able to find the full-text of an article or needing suggestions for other places to search, here are some suggestions to get you started.  Feel free to contact me, if you need some more ideas! 

 

Recommended Databases to Search for Anthropology Articles

  • Wiley Online Library
    Full text of journals covering: science, business, economics, finance, accounting, law, life sciences, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, etc.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a 'high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats' in the areas of language, literature, mathematics, music, anthropology, sociology, art, education, sciences, business, and political science.
  • SAGE Journals
    Access to SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
  • eHRAF World Cultures
    A web-based, multi-cultural database with information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior.

Need More Articles?

If you have looked in the Anthropology databases but still need more articles, try these databases accourding to your topic.

  • CQ Researcher  
      
    CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
  • ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials  
      
    Combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with American Theological Library Association's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    More than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information is available in ScienceDirect. There are over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
  • Research Library  
      

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Erin Gratz
Logo - FacebookLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
(909) 448-4782
egratz@laverne.edu

Contact a Subject Librarian for help!
 

Anthropology Films

Search for anthropology related films in:

Films on Demand

Ethnographic Video Online

The Archaeology Channel

Other Relevant Guides:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip