This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology   Tags: social_science, subject_guide  

Guide to recommended databases to search for scholarly articles, books, recommended websites, and information on ASA format. Look for more information soon, including specific class guides.
Last Updated: May 19, 2014 URL: http://laverne.v1.libguides.com/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • SAGE Knowledge
    Search a collection of SAGE reference books by keyword, title, or browse through the indexes. Covering: sociology, law, education, healthcare, counseling and more.
  • Oxford Reference
    Over 170 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, and statistical directories.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    An online collection of dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, etc.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past; traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year and an Internet directory with links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Tests & Measurements

Recommended Databases to Search for Sociology Articles

  • SocIndex
    Contains full text for 708 journals dating back to 1908, & includes more than 780 books & monographs, and full text for 9,333 conference papers. This database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers
  • SAGE Journals
    Access to SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a 'high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats' in the areas of language, literature, mathematics, music, anthropology, sociology, art, education, sciences, business, and political science.

Need More Articles?

If you have looked in the Sociology databases but still need more articles, try these databases accourding to your topic.

  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service  
      
    Contains summaries of more than 190,000 law enforcement and criminal justice publications including books, governmentreports, research reports, and unpublished research. It also includes content from 189 journals.
  • Wiley Online Library  
      
    Full text of journals covering: science, business, economics, finance, accounting, law, life sciences, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, etc.
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
  • ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials  
      
    Combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with American Theological Library Association's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  
      
    A research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    More than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information is available in ScienceDirect. There are over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Education Source
    Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Erin Gratz
Logo - FacebookLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
(909) 448-4782
egratz@laverne.edu

Contact a Subject Librarian for help!

Not Finding What You Want?

Are you having trouble finding what you want?  Whether it is not being able to find the full-text of an article or needing suggestions for other places to search, here are some suggestions to get you started.  Feel free to contact me, if you need some more ideas! 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip